The All-Clad

Two American cookware names, one of which still makes the pan in America. At 10 inches the All-Clad D3 and the Calphalon Premier are ten dollars apart. The differences are where it is made, how hot it can go, and whether it meets the dishwasher.
Tap either one to check today’s price.
All-Clad has the edge on 3 of 10 lines, Calphalon on 1, 4 even.
| Feature | All-Clad | Calphalon |
|---|---|---|
| Price, 10 in on AmazonEven | About $140, with lid | About $130, no lid |
| Construction | Tri-ply: 18/10 stainless, aluminum core, fully bonded rim to rim | 5-ply with an aluminum core (listing); Calphalon says it resists warping and denting |
| Made in | USA (Pennsylvania), with global components (the edge) | Not stated on the Amazon listing; Target lists it as imported, and Prudent Reviews reports China |
| InductionEven | Yes, all cooktops | Yes, all cooktops |
| Oven | Oven and broiler safe to 600°F (the edge) | Oven safe to 500°F |
| Dishwasher | Hand wash only (maker) | Dishwasher safe (listing) (the edge) |
| HandleEven | Riveted stainless, grooved for an underhand grip | Riveted stainless, contoured stay-cool handle |
| Weight | Maker lists 3.73 for pan and lid; ATK weighed the 12 in pan alone at 2.8 lb | 2.8 lb (Target listing) |
| WarrantyEven | Limited lifetime | Limited lifetime (Calphalon warranty page); scratches and discoloration excluded |
| Independent testing | D3 12 in is America's Test Kitchen's winner among stainless skillets (the edge) | Not found in ATK's published stainless skillet review |
The verdict
Buy the All-Clad D3 if you want the stainless pan that independent testers keep putting first, made in Pennsylvania, rated to 600 degrees and sold with a lid, and you will wash it by hand. Buy the Calphalon Premier if you want a polished five-layer pan that goes in the dishwasher for about $10 less. If the question is really about money, the $35 Tramontina below does the same cooking as either.
The pan for eggs, and which metal suits how you cook them.The cookware still made in America.The stockpot for soup, stock and a pound of pasta.

All-Clad invented bonded cookware in 1971 and still makes the D3 line in its Pennsylvania factory with global components: 18/10 stainless inside and out around an aluminum core, three layers bonded from rim to rim. Calphalon began in 1963 in Perrysburg, Ohio, as Commercial Aluminum Cookware, built its name on hard-anodized aluminum, and was bought by Newell in 1998. Until then, Prudent Reviews notes, every Calphalon piece was made in the United States; since then most production has moved overseas, and the company confirmed to that site that only its Elite and Commercial lines are still made in Perrysburg.
The Calphalon stainless pan people compare with All-Clad today is the Premier: a polished five-layer pan with an aluminum core, a riveted stay-cool handle and what Calphalon calls Turbo Temp technology, which it says heats up to 30 percent faster than Cuisinart's Professional Series. The 10 inch is about $130 on Amazon. The All-Clad D3 10 inch, sold with a lid, is about $140. Both work on induction, both carry a limited lifetime warranty, and both are sold on Amazon by Amazon.com.
The side-by-side below settles the facts. The short version is that the All-Clad goes 100 degrees hotter in the oven, is made in Pennsylvania and has the test record; the Calphalon goes in the dishwasher and costs a little less. Neither pan is the bargain in this story. That is the Tramontina at the bottom of the page.
The original bonded tri-ply, made in Pennsylvania, rated to 600 degrees, with a lid in the box; the pan the Calphalon is measured against.

D3 is All-Clad's first and plainest line: fully bonded tri-ply, with five metal layers forming three functional ones, two stainless skins around an aluminum and aluminum-alloy core, bonded all the way up the wall. The 10 inch has All-Clad's riveted stainless handle shaped for a chef's underhand grip, a flared edge for pouring and a stainless lid. The listing and All-Clad's page agree: made in the USA with global components in Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, oven and broiler safe to 600 degrees Fahrenheit, compatible with any stovetop including induction, hand wash only, limited lifetime warranty.
America's Test Kitchen's stainless skillet review put the 12 inch D3 through its paces and made it the winner, measuring 2.8 pounds and finding it resisted warping and abuse. The 10 inch is the same pan smaller. All-Clad lists it at $169.99 and sells it at $139.99 on its own site; Amazon's price is about the same.
Buy it if you want a pan that will still sit flat in thirty years and do not mind washing it by hand. Skip it if the dishwasher is non-negotiable; that is the one thing the Calphalon does that this pan will not.
The catch. Hand wash only, and the polished exterior shows every scratch.
Where to buy
AmazonCheck price →A polished five-layer pan that goes in the dishwasher and the oven to 500 degrees, from a brand that no longer makes its stainless in Ohio.

Premier is Calphalon's top stainless line. The listing describes ultra-durable five-layer construction built to resist warping and denting, an aluminum core for even heating across the whole surface, a riveted stainless handle that stays cool on the stovetop, and an oven rating of 500 degrees Fahrenheit. Calphalon's Turbo Temp claim, that it heats up to 30 percent faster, is measured against Cuisinart's Professional Series, not against All-Clad. Target's listing adds that it is dishwasher safe, works on induction and all other cooktops, and weighs 2.8 pounds.
On origin the listing is silent. Target lists the pan as imported, and Prudent Reviews, which phoned Calphalon, reports the Premier collection as made in China, with only Elite and Commercial still made in Perrysburg, Ohio. Calphalon's warranty page lists Premier cookware as limited lifetime, covering manufacturing defects and excluding scratches, dents, stains and discoloration.
Buy it if you want five layers, a mirror finish and the dishwasher, and the origin does not matter to you. Skip it if you want the pan with the test record, the higher oven limit or the American factory; for $10 more the All-Clad has all three, and for $95 less the Tramontina has the dishwasher.
The catch. Origin is not on the listing, and the five layers buy no advantage in the independent testing we could find.
Where to buy
AmazonCheck price →Calphalon's own tri-ply at a third of the Premier's price, with a brushed finish and a 450 degree oven limit.

This is the Calphalon that competes on price. The listing describes three-layer construction with an aluminum core, the same Turbo Temp claim as the Premier, a long riveted stainless handle that stays cool, induction compatibility and an oven rating of 450 degrees Fahrenheit, 50 degrees below the Premier and 150 below the All-Clad. The finish is brushed rather than polished, which hides scratches better.
It is the fair comparison for anyone who thinks the Premier is dear: same brand, same core idea, $80 less. What you give up is two layers that independent testing suggests do little, a mirror finish and some oven headroom. Origin is not stated on the listing, and Prudent Reviews' reporting puts all of Calphalon's stainless outside the Perrysburg plant.
Buy it if you want a Calphalon pan and a tri-ply build for about $50. Skip it if you want the strongest warranty record and a pan a reviewer has weighed and warped; the Tramontina at $35 has the test history and a lifetime warranty.
The catch. The lowest oven rating here, and no independent review to point to.
Where to buy
AmazonCheck price →Fully clad tri-ply with a lifetime warranty, dishwasher safe and NSF certified, for about a quarter of either pan above.

Tramontina's Signature pan is 18/10 stainless around an aluminum core with a riveted stainless handle, a mirror-polished exterior and a satin interior. The listing rates it oven safe to 500 degrees Fahrenheit, induction compatible, NSF certified, dishwasher safe and covered by a lifetime warranty. At about $35 for a 12 inch it costs less than either 10 inch above.
America's Test Kitchen reviewed a sibling, Tramontina's Gourmet tri-ply 12 inch, and recommended it with reservations: no warping, but a narrower cooking surface than the All-Clad and a heavier pan at 3.2 pounds. That is the trade against the D3. Against the Calphalon Premier it is simpler: the same dishwasher convenience and oven rating, a published test history, and $95 in your pocket.
Buy it if you cook a few times a week, want the dishwasher, or want to learn stainless before spending All-Clad money. Skip it if you want a 10 inch; this listing is the 12.
The catch. A 12 inch rather than a 10, and a smaller flat cooking surface than the All-Clad in ATK's measurements.
Where to buy
AmazonCheck price →Triple-ply with a cast handle, a helper handle and a 550 degree oven rating, priced between the Calphalon pans.

MultiClad Pro is the Cuisinart line Calphalon's Turbo Temp claim is not measured against; that comparison names Cuisinart's Professional Series. The listing describes triple-ply stainless construction, a cast stainless handle that stays cool and is riveted on, tapered rims for pouring, and a pan that is dishwasher safe, broiler safe and oven safe to 550 degrees Fahrenheit. The helper handle makes the 12 inch easier to lift full.
America's Test Kitchen reviewed the lidded version and recommended it with reservations: a roomy 10 inch cooking surface and good browning, but it warped early in testing and wobbled even on a gas burner, and at 3.75 pounds it was heavy. That is the flaw the All-Clad does not have and the reason to think of this as a bigger, cheaper pan rather than a cheaper All-Clad.
The catch. Warped early in ATK's testing, which matters most on induction and glass tops.
Where to buy
AmazonCheck price →All-Clad bonds, engineers and assembles D3 in Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, with global components, and says so on every listing. Calphalon was an Ohio company that made everything in Perrysburg until Newell bought it in 1998. Prudent Reviews phoned the company and was told the Elite and Commercial collections are still made there; the specialist would not name the countries for the rest, and the site's reporting puts Premier, Classic and Signature in China. Calphalon's Amazon listings do not state origin. If a pan made in America is part of why you are shopping these two names, only one of them still is.
Calphalon's Premier is five-ply and All-Clad's D3 is three. In America's Test Kitchen's stainless skillet review the five-layer pans cooked about the same as the three-layer ones; thickness and a flat base mattered more than the layer count. All-Clad's own five-ply line, D5, costs more than D3 for the same reason. Count the layers if you like, but do not pay for them.
Both makers call it limited lifetime, and both mean defects in materials and workmanship. Calphalon's warranty page spells out the exclusions: normal wear including scratches, dents, scuffs, stains and discoloration, and cosmetic damage that does not affect function. All-Clad's covers the same ground. Neither will replace a pan you warped by running it under cold water, so do not.
If you will own one good stainless pan for decades, the All-Clad D3 is the one, and the $10 over the Calphalon is nothing against the years. If you want the dishwasher, buy the Tramontina for $35 and put the other $95 toward a saucepan; it does what the Calphalon Premier does. The Premier is the pan for someone who wants Calphalon specifically, polished, and does not want to think about it.
At 10 inches the All-Clad D3 is made in Pennsylvania, rated to 600 degrees, comes with a lid and is America's Test Kitchen's stainless winner; it must be hand washed. The Calphalon Premier is five-ply, dishwasher safe, rated to 500 degrees and about $10 cheaper, with origin not stated on the listing. For most cooks the All-Clad is the better pan; the Calphalon is the more convenient one.
Calphalon's Premier stainless is a sound five-layer pan, but it has no published test record to match the D3's, a lower oven limit, and it is no longer made in the United States. It is as good as All-Clad at going in the dishwasher, which All-Clad does not allow.
Calphalon's Elite and Commercial collections are made in Perrysburg, Ohio, according to the company's own confirmation to Prudent Reviews. The rest, including Premier stainless, is made overseas; Target lists the Premier fry pan as imported and Prudent Reviews reports China. The Amazon listings do not state origin.
Target's listing for the Premier 10 inch says yes. Calphalon's warranty excludes stains and discoloration, which the dishwasher can cause, so hand washing keeps the polish longer.
Calphalon's warranty page lists Premier cookware as limited lifetime, covering manufacturing defects for purchases in the United States and excluding scratches, dents, stains, discoloration and cosmetic damage. All-Clad's limited lifetime warranty works the same way.
The extra is about $10 at 10 inches, so yes, unless you need the dishwasher. If the point is to spend less, skip both and buy the Tramontina tri-ply for about $35; it is dishwasher safe, oven safe to 500 degrees and carries a lifetime warranty.
KitchenMade in USA Cookware: Five Pans Actually Made Here
KitchenBest Cutting Board: End Grain vs Edge Grain Wood
KitchenBest Knife Sharpener: Honing Rods, Whetstones, Electric
KitchenBest Pan for Eggs: Nonstick, Carbon Steel, Cast Iron, Steel
KitchenBest Stockpot: 8 to 12 Quart Picks From $65 to $300
KitchenAll-Clad vs Demeyere: Which Stainless Pan to Buy
KitchenCarbon Steel Pan vs Stainless Steel: Which to Buy
KitchenIs All-Clad Worth It? Compared With a $50 Tri-PlyThe Bonwits Letter
What is worth buying for the house this week, what is actually on sale, and what to skip. Short, and never sponsored.